A Buddhist Sunday – The Shamarpa

The Shamarpa (Zhwa dmar pa – The one with the red hat/crown) is the second highest lama in the Karma Kagyu (Bka’ brgyud) lineage and is generally seen as another emanation of the Karmapa.

The first Shamar Rinpoche Khedrup Drakpa Senge (1283–1349) was recognised by the third Karmapa Rangjung Dorje (Rang ‘byung rdo rje).

Khedrup Dragpa Senge was a close student of the third Karmapa who awarded him with a crown identical to his own – but in red – and the title of Shamarpa. The Shamar Rinpoche is equal to the Karmapa in realisation and second to the Karmapa in hierarchy. It’s the responsibility of the Shamarpas to recognise the Karmapa reincarnations.

The 10th Shamar Rinpoche (Mipham Chödrup Gyamtso – 1742–1793) was accused of conspiring with Nepal at a time of war between Nepal and Tibet and a ban was put on his reincarnation by the Tibetan government. The lineage continued in secret.

In 1956, the 14th Kunzig Shamar Rinpoche Mipham Chokyi Lodro was recognised by His Holiness the 16th Gyalwa Karmapa Rangjung Rigpe Dorje. Subsequently, escaping the Chinese occupation, both lineage holders left Tibet together.

Picture of the 16th Karmapa, and other high Rinpoches, such as the 14th Kunzig Shamar Rinpoche and Kalu Rinpoche...Picture can be found at the foot of Svayambhū Stūpa next to one of the bigger prayer wheels.

After the death of the 16th Karmapa it was the Shamar Rinpoche who was instrumental in finding and recognising H.H. the 17th Gyalwa Karmapa Trinley Thaye Dorje.

HH Shamar Rinpoche

On the 11th of June 2014 the 14th Shamar Rinpoche passed away in one of his European centres in Germany.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s